PFA Premier League Team of 2017/18 Announced

Updated On Apr 19, 2018 by David Nugent

On Wednesday, PFA announced their Premier League Team of the Year, which unsurprisingly contained five players from Premier League champions Manchester City. The Citizens have dominated the English top-flight and their star players performances have been acknowledged by the PFA.

PFA Premier League Team of the Year for 2018

Here is the PFA Premier League Team of the Year:


David de Gea (Manchester United)

The Spaniard has been in outstanding form this season. The Red Devils would have been out of the race for the top-flight title long before they were without the former Atletico Madrid stopper.


Marcos Alonso (Chelsea)

De Gea’s compatriot was once again a major attacking threat playing as a left-wing. The former Fiorentina star scored six goals in the top-flight, while also producing two assists. He also won his first cap for Spain, becoming the third generation of Alonso to play for Spain.

Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham)

The Belgium international is the rock at the centre of that very solid Spurs defence. He has matured into one of the finest centre-backs in the Premier League in recent years.

Nicolas Otamendi (Manchester City)

The Argentinian’s improvement at the heart of the City defence played a big part in the Citizens becoming far more solid in defence. The centre-back also weighed in with four goals for City, including scoring in the Manchester derby at Old Trafford.

Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Otamendi’s City teammate has grown into an outstanding right-back and his contribution in both defence and attack were crucial for Pep Guardiola’s side this season. The England full-back has produced an impressive six assists this season in the Premier League


Christian Eriksen (Tottenham)

The Denmark international has been vastly underrated for years. However, the former Ajax playmaker has once again been a key player for Spurs this season, scoring 11 goals and producing nine assists in the top-flight.

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

The former Wolfsburg man is the player that makes the Citizens tick from midfield. De Bruyne’s seven goals and 17 assists has put the Belgium international right in thick of the race for PFA Player of the Year.

David Silva (Manchester City)

Silva has been the creative brains behind all three of Manchester City’s Premier League title triumphs. Despite difficult circumstances off the field, the 32-year-old still scored eight goals and produced 11 assists. What a star!


Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

The Egyptian has enjoyed a sensational first season at Liverpool, scoring 30 top-flight goals and helping the Reds to the Champions League semi-finals. His goalscoring feats have led the former Roma star to be the favourite to win PFA Player of the Year.

Harry Kane (Tottenham)

The England forward has experienced another stellar campaign in front of goal for Spurs, scoring 25 Premier League goals. However, he has a major fight on his hands to win another Premier League golden boot this season.

Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)

Just like David Silva, Aguero has now won three Premier League titles with City. This season the 29-year-old has scored 21 top-flight goals and produced six assists. Incredibly, despite a glittering career at City, this is the first time the striker has never been named in a PFA Premier League Team of the Year.

Does the PFA have it right with their Premier League Team of the Year?

David Nugent Author

First off, I want to say hi and wish a warm welcome to all gambling aficionados out there! My name is David Nugent and I am editor-in-chief of I have always enjoyed various sports, primarily soccer, as I am a die-hard Everton fan.

Over time, I learned more about sports betting and discovered the fascinating online gambling industry. Eventually,...

Comments are closed.